Ten prestigious firms from around the world were invited to develop design proposals for the Exilmuseum’s building. The jury announced the winner:

First Prize: Dorte Mandrup, Copenhagen
Second Prize: Diller Scofidio + Renfro New York
Third Prize: Bruno Fioretti Marquez, Berlin
Honorable Mention: SANAA, Tokyo
Honorable Mention: Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Berlin/Madrid

The Stiftung Exilmuseum organized the competition in coordination with the Berlin Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing and the district of Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. The Exilmuseum Berlin plans to open its doors in 2025.

Bruno Fioretti Marquez, Berlin
Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York
Dorte Mandrup, Copenhagen
Kéré Architecture, Berlin
Nieto Sobejano Architectos, Madrid/Berlin
SANAA, Tokyo
Sauerbruch Hutton, Berlin
Staab Architekten, Berlin
ZAO/standardarchitecture, Beijing

The site designated for the Exilmuseum was once home to the Anhalter Bahnhof. Today, only the ruins of the station’s main portico testify to the presence of Berlin’s largest railway terminus. In the years after the Nazis seized power, countless persecuted people boarded trains from this historic place in an effort to flee abroad. The site and its ruins powerfully symbolize the state of transit, of biographical rupture, and the act of setting forth into the unknown.

A catalogue documenting the competition is available for 10 Euro. Please contact