“I can’t think of a better place to erect a museum on the subject of exile than this one alongside the ruins of Anhalter Bahnhof’s portico.”
(Herta Müller)

The Design

In the design by Danish architect Dorte Mandrup the façade forms a wide arc around the portico ruins of Anhalter Bahnhof. This subtle but powerful gesture frames the new building keeping a respectful distance from the ruins. The wide-spanning foyer on the ground floor gives an overall impression that the entire structure rests on just four points.

An extensive plaza opens up between the historical fragment and the new building which bridges from the past to the present. Thanks to the glass foyer, visual connections remain through the building. Inside the museum, a triple-story airspace opens up behind the brick façade. The upper-floor galleries offer a series of ever-changing views of the portico.

Location

The ruins of Anhalter Bahnhof's portico are all that remain from what was once Berlin's largest train station. From here, countless victims of Nazi persecution fled between 1933 and 1945 in search of safe refuge in exile. For many emigrants, the street in front of Anhalter Bahnhof was the last place that they felt the Berlin cobblestones beneath their feet and started out facing an uncertain future.

Planning Status

The planning area is located behind the portico ruins of the Anhalter Bahnhof next to the Lilli Henoch sports field. The building will feature about 3,500 square meters of floor space for museum purposes. In addition, a seperate 700 square meters are planned for cultural and leisure activities by the district and third parties.

The leasehold agreement with the district of Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg is scheduled to be concluded in the fall of 2022. Completion of the construction plan alteration process is expected by the end of 2023. The start of construction is planned for 2024, the opening of the museum for 2026.

The Competition

For the realization of the museum building, Stiftung Exilmuseum held an architectural competition in cooperation with Berlin's Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing and the district of Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. Ten renowned firms from all around the world were invited to participate.

Dorte Mandrup on her design for the Exilmuseum

The Architect

Architect Dorte Mandrup has led a multi-award-winning practice in Copenhagen since 1999. It is internationally known for creating sculpturally influenced architecture with a unique sense of place and materiality – for example, in the "Wadden Sea Trilogy" implemented in Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands, or the Norwegian exhibition center "The Whale".

„Ich kann mir keinen besseren Ort für den Bau eines Exilmuseums vorstellen als die Portalruine des Anhalter Bahnhofs.“
(Herta Müller)

Der Entwurf

Im Entwurf der dänischen Architektin Dorte Mandrup schwingt sich die Fassade in einem großen Bogen um die Portalruine des Anhalter Bahnhofs. Mit dieser dezenten aber kraftvollen Geste rahmt der Neubau die Ruine in respektvollem Abstand. Das weit aufgespannte Foyer im Erdgeschoss lässt den Eindruck entstehen, als laste das Gebäude auf nur vier Punkten.

Zwischen dem historischen Fragment und dem Neubau entsteht ein weitläufiger freier Platz, der die Brücke von der Vergangenheit in die Gegenwart spannt. Dank des verglasten Foyers bleiben Sichtbeziehungen durch das Gebäude hindurch bestehen. Im Inneren des Museums öffnet sich ein dreistöckiger Luftraum hinter der Ziegelfassade. Von den Galerien in den oberen Stockwerken bieten sich immer wieder Ausblicke auf das Portal.

Der Standort

Vom einst zentral gelegenen Anhalter Bahnhof mit seinem raumgreifenden Gebäude steht heute nur noch die Ruine des Eingangsportals. Von hier aus flohen nach der Machtübernahme durch die Nationalsozialisten 1933 unzählige Verfolgte mit dem Zug ins Exil. Für viele Emigranten und Emigrantinnen war der Platz vor dem Anhalter Bahnhof der letzte Ort, an dem sie Berliner Straßenpflaster unter den Sohlen spürten und von dem aus sie ins Ungewisse aufbrachen.

Der Planungsstand

Die Baufläche liegt zwischen der Portalruine des Anhalter Bahnhofs und dem Lilli-Henoch-Sportplatz. Die Neubauplanung umfasst ca. 3.500 qm Nutzfläche für das Museum sowie ca. 700 qm Fläche für Freizeit- und Kulturnutzung durch den Bezirk und Dritte.

Der Abschluss des Erbpachtvertrags mit dem Bezirk Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg ist für Herbst 2022 avisiert. Mit dem Abschluss des Bebauungsplan-Änderungsverfahrens wird mit Ende 2023 gerechnet. Der Baubeginn ist für 2024 geplant, die Eröffnung des Museums für 2026.

Der Wettbewerb

Zur Realisierung des Museumsneubaus am Anhalter Bahnhof lobte die Stiftung Exilmuseum in Abstimmung mit der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen sowie dem Bezirk Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg einen internationalen Architekturwettbewerb aus. Eingeladen waren zehn international renommierte Architekturbüros.

Dorte Mandrup über ihren Entwurf für das Exilmuseum

Die Architektin

Die Architektin Dorte Mandrup leitet seit 1999 ein vielfach preisgekröntes Büro in Kopenhagen. Es ist international dafür bekannt, eine skulptural geprägte Architektur mit einem einzigartigen Sinn für den Ort und die Materialität zu schaffen – so z.B. bei der in Dänemark, Deutschland und den Niederlanden umgesetzten "Wattenmeer-Trilogie" oder dem norwegischen Ausstellungszentrum "The Whale".